1. The name of the school is Abercrombie Community Primary School.
  2. The school is a Community school.
  3. The name of the governing body is "The governing body of Abercrombie Community Primary School".
  4. The governing body shall consist of:-

(a) 4 Parent Governors:

(b) 1 LA governors:

(c) 1 Staff governors:

(d) 1 Head Teacher

(e) 8 Co-opted governors:

(f) 2 Associate Members

  1. Total number of governors is 15.
  2. The term of office of all governors is 4 years.
  3. This Instrument of Government comes into effect on18th June2018 replacing the Instrument of Government made on 18th November 2013.
  4. This Instrument was made by order of Derbyshire Local Authority on 18 June 2018.
  5. A copy of the Instrument of Government must be supplied to every member of the governing body (and the Head teacher if not a governor).



APPOINTMENT OF GOVERNORS – Correct as at 2nd October 2020

School – Abercrombie Primary School & Nursery, Higher Albert Street, Chesterfield. Derbyshire. S41 7QE

01246 232425


Name of Governor

Date Appointed

Appointment Expiry Date


Head Teacher

Tracy Gannon

September 2013


Staff Governor (1)

Karen Dobson

1st November 2017

31st October 2021

Local Authority Governor (1)




Co Opted Governors (8)

Jill Brunt (Chair)

1st November 2017

31st October 2021

Carl Beech

 15th January 2019

 14th January 2023

Dr Simeon Rackham

 15th January 2019

 14th January 2023

Marion Thorpe

 21st January 2020

 20th January 2024

Lindsay Hannan (Vice-Chair)

 1st September 2017 

31st August 2021










Parent Governor (4)

Antonia Kelly

2nd October 2020

1st October 2024

Claire Bracegirdle

1st October 2016

30th September 2020

Chris Auton

25th May 2018

24th May 2022

Lauren Wallace

2nd October 2020

1st October 2024 

Associate Members (2)

Jo Jilavu

1st April 2020

31st March 2024